-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 - 9:51 a.m.

lessons learned (with update @ 5pm)

Alrighty folks - the "Betti hopes for a papershuffling job involving a window" interview is later today. From my last failed experience, I've learned to come up with a zen answer to "what's your least favorite thing about your job", and not to be phased by a handshake that involves the transmission of lots of hand lotion. I also took note of my eating habits, and although it thankfully wasn't an issue, I've refrained from eating fart-inducing foods yesterday and today.

The problem this time? I have no freaking clue what I applied for nearly two months ago. I wouldn't have applied if the job didn't appeal to me, but what if I was in a self-depreciating mood? And what is the politest way to ask your interviewers "uhhhhhh, so what do you want me to do?"

I'm cautiously optimistic! I've never had more fun at an interview before - I decided to take the same approach to wooing them as employers as I did wooing Mr. Hubby, back when he was Mr. Gee-It'd-Be-Great-To-Date-Him. I was truthful to the point I may have scared them off - if they like me anyway, it should be a good match.

At one point I even said "can we talk about something other than being angry?"
They had been asking me questions related to how I behave when I'm angry, how do I treat angry people, and what is my reaction to someone being angry with me.

Rather than come up with some interview-appropriate answer on the spot, I said "When I get mad, I'm kind of like a firework - there's a big bang, but it is very short and over very quickly. I don't have the attention span or the spare energy to hold a grudge, so I get over things quickly, but usually I do have a short fit first. Ten minutes later, I'm ready to go out for ice cream with whoever I was mad at."
If I absolutely have to keep my temper, I can and will, but botoxing my entire face would help, because no matter how hard I try, I end up making faces - so it's a plus if I disagree with someone over the phone or over email."
"I think I've got a knack for calming down angry people - you've got to figure those things out if you've ever cared for small children or worked in a nursing home. Sometimes people get really ticked off and you just have to hold your ground in a gentle manner."
"If someone is reading me the riot act I'll stay quiet and try to sort the useful information being given to me from the angry blah blah the other person is spouting off. Of course you never tell the person they're just spouting off angry blah blah, that'd be a bad idea. Everybody blows off steam now and then, and I'm good at keeping that in mind when I'm being yelled at."

Heh - interviews are fun when you already have a full time job. Either they'll love me and want to keep me or I'll at least be the topic of conversation for a while. They seemed to really be enjoying themselves so I'm not worried about them feeling disrespected by the experience.

Woot!

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, Sept. 11, 2006 - 8:14 a.m.

here we go again . . . .

I'm shoving aside my "don't type about work" policy briefly:

I applied for a position seven weeks ago, and assumed that the potential employer was too lazy to send out rejection letters. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find a message on my home answering machine, asking for an interview that would take place today or tomorrow. I was really psyched that the interview might be today; I went to bed really early last night so I'd have no trouble getting up early - in fact I slept like a little kid on Christmas Eve, waking every few hours to make sure I hadn't slept too long, giddily anticipating an interesting day. I'm looking tidy and feeling confident, I practiced answering questions in a non-spazzy manner, I'm READY TO GO.

So I called up the folks interested in interviewing me, and they're not available until tomorrow. And the end of the phone conversation got wierd because a blabby-mouthed individual was just standing in front of my desk, watching my hand as I wrote. I've told only the relvant individuals what I'm up to, and I would like to leave it at that. (My failed interviews are my business, besides the fact that it's tacky to announce that you're searching for greener pastures).

GOOD FREAKING GRIEF, this is NOT a day for me to attempt steath, ANOTHER COWORKER walked behind my desk to talk to me (like I can't hear people in front of my desk?) and started reading what I'm typing. (Reason number 45679234 not to write about work).

Yeah, so I shaved my legs and broke out a nice skirt for no reason, followed by closing a conversation with a potental employer "I'll have to catch up with you later" then created reason for office gossip by writing about my morning. (For any D&D nerds out there, I'm rolling -10 stealth today).

I'm going to try to make coffee without setting the building on fire.

Hope your Monday is going well!

3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday, Sept. 08, 2006 - 9:17 a.m.

The Peanut Gallery

Ever wondered where the phrase "Peanut Gallery" as in "no comments from the peanut gallery, please" originated?

I'm not sure of the precise origin, but I do know that the seating area for the live audience of children that attended tapings of "The Howdy Doody Show" was refured to as a "Peanut Gallery"

Soooo, in a not-so-subtle effort to get people to de-lurk I'm developing a plan for adding a "peanut gallery" section or link to my webpage, so I can provide links to the webpages of my friendly hecklers.

This will involve cracking open my neglected HTML books, but I'll need SOMETHING to do, now that football season is upon us and Mr. Hubby is paralyzed by the NFL's siren song - rendered gape-mouthed and boring as hell until the game is over. And those games go on for hours and hours and hours and hours . . .
(Thank you to Mr. Lee for taking Suki and I to walk around town during last night's football game!)

So, if you would like to be added to my non-existant heckler's corner, please let me know.

5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Sept. 07, 2006 - 9:47 a.m.

just vain babbling, nothing to see here . . .

If you've been following this blog for a while (you should seek mental help) you may remember that I've decided to stop getting haircuts as a means of saving money. $30 every six weeks doesn't seem like much money, but it adds up to approximately $260 a year.

$260 is nearly a plane ticket to visit my sister, $260 is holiday presents, $260 is a step closer to knocking out a dog-got-sick, car-and-laptop-died credit card balance.

Once upon a time (or 3 months ago) I would have had a fighting chance at blending into this image:

Although my "grow it out" haircut wasn't very flattering, I had been at peace with my decision, because I feel like I'm accomplishing something, and until recently my hair didn't look that bad.

Now I feel like I have a much better chance at blending into THIS image, and I'm not happy about it at all.

By harnessing the power of blowdryer and hairspray, I manage to not look like a COMPLETE freak at work, but I can't keep this up for long. I'll have to choose tiny-barrette-look, 80's-hair-band-wannabe-look, or all-out-sheepdog-look soon.

Anyone want to share a "bad haircut recovery" or "growing hair out sucks" story? Bueller? Bueller?

. . .

P.S. I got a pseudo-apology from the person acting angry and intimidating towards me on Tuesday and the dust is settling nicely. In case you were wondering, Mr. Hubby and Mr. Lee weren't involved except to remind me what a hoser the intimidator is, then make sure I spent the evening drinking hooch from Cyprus.

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, Sept. 06, 2006 - 9:06 a.m.

please stand by . .

Your usual Elvis Wednesday venue is temporarily defunct.

Yesterday, I endured an awful lot of

and

so I'm still feeling a little

but I'll be back to

in no time.

2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Sept. 05, 2006 - 8:45 a.m.

After a 3 day weekend . . .

This morning it occured to me that I wouldn't have to sort though a brimming full email inbox and come up with a "game plan" for catching up and getting all my tasks accomplished without disapointing any of my coworkers if I still worked for a fast food restaurant.

I'd share a "morning shift at a fast food restaurant wasn't that bad" story, but I have 3.2 million things to do today.

If you've ever worked food service, what did you think was best and worst about the job?

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday, Sept. 01, 2006 - 9:01 a.m.

Awww . . Baby Vampire Bats!


Yesterday I posted two photos of a mysterious-looking hottie (admittedly I�ve got strange taste in guys � just shake your head and keep reading, �kay?) and asked my 4 readers to guess who he was.

Alice was nearly right, instead of commenting that his eyes look sexy, she accidentally typed evil. Repeatedly . . . but we�ll let that slide by.

Madame DeBarge and Jenny were dead on.

I�ll have Nikki good and warped, *ahem* I mean educated and enlightened in no time. My Elvis Wednesday partner in crime is looking forward (HA) to shoulder surgery so be a sweetheart and stop by her site and wish her well.

The neatest Bela Lugosi website I�ve found (so far) was developed by Bela�s Grandson, Timothy Lugosi. For the uninitiated, Bela is best known as "Dracula" of the the 1931 cult classic. He was in a metric ton of other movies from 1917 through 1959, and was the narrator for the 2005 production of "The Tell Tale Heart".


6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006 - 9:49 a.m.

I need a translator! / name this person

Oh. My. Gosh. . . . Guys?
I have the COOLEST possible lead on a great Elvis Wednesday during October, but I've run into a glitch - I DONT SPEAK OR READ SPANISH.

Soooooooo, if you have the ability to translate, and want in on the creation of my weekly blip, let me know - my 3 readers and I would be very grateful.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Alrighty, my kittens - here's a fun little trivia challenge for you:

Name this dude. -Or- name the dude who performs a song about him.

Sexy, no?

**UPDATE**

Damn, I feel popular, you guys struck while the iron was hot!
Speaking of hott, here's another pic, same dude, slightly younger.

5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2006 - 9:21 a.m.

Elvis Wednesday: your mile marker to the weekend


Oh wow. Just . . . . wow.

Yes, that's actually Elvis, *not* an impersonator.

This is the least flattering photo I've ever found of Elvis, I challenge you to find a photo of Elvis (in concert setting) looking worse than that.

If I were to develop a "say no to speed" ad campaign, I'd use dear Elvis as my poster child. I know that age had a factor in the demise of his physical state, but gadamn, I'm SURE that the speed-fueled lifestyle he lived did him no favors whatsoever.

I found this photo at elvis-presley-superstar - one stop shopping for your Elvis live recording needs. Or something.

Visit my ELVIS WEDNESDAY blog-buddy Nikki and give her some lovin!
Elivs is lookin' pretty "bouncy" over there . . .

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2006 - 10:04 a.m.

63 days 'till Halloween

oooooh Tommy likey!
(props to anyone who gets that reference)

As much as I think this is one of the best looking halloween trees I've seen on the market (so far) these people are out of their minds to think the average schmo can spend $170 on a fiber optic decoration. Peh.

What's your favorite kind of Halloween decoration?

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, Aug. 28, 2006 - 10:24 a.m.

64 days until Halloween

I'm hella-busy today, no time for cocktails.

I bought four little strands halloween lights over the weekend, and am inordinately happy about it. I think I'm going to decorate early this year.

What are you going to be for Halloween this year?

3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday, Aug. 25, 2006 - 9:40 a.m.

Blogger's Block

I'm just not feelin' it today folks. I've got some budding ideas that through the JungleBetti filter seem facinating and entertaining, but would likely fall with a dull thud when presented to the Blogosphere.

So?
I'm trying to sort out my blogging game plan:

  • I still get giddy when I see that more than 3 people have stopped by.
  • I get superhero-strut in my stride at the idea that I might be giving you a brief break from the usual grind.

    However,
    I blog to entertain myself, and yet I fear the boogey-man, so I'm averse to writing about my job, my friends and family, my town, and other things that haven't come to mind yet.

    Perhaps that means I should post whateverthehell comes to mind?
    Or is a "quality-control" mechanism necessary?

    peh - while I'm at it, who set up the camera to record Neil Armstrong's exit from Appolo 11, what is the land speed of a coconut laden swallow, where is Jimmy Hoffa's body, when is a man justified in disobeying the dictates of the state, why does the caged bird sing, and how did the universe come to exist?

    3 comments

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

  • vanity:

    most recent entry

    previous entries

    random entry

    my (neglected) webiste

    **links**

    the usual hecklers:

    Alice

    Alfred's Mom

    Jenny

    Nikki

    MadameD

    take a look:

    Stories of Strength & Courage

    hosted by DiaryLand.com