-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday, Nov. 07, 2006 - 1:16 p.m.

just a quick hello

I've returned to the cubicle of doom, and am happy to report that I'm less busy than I thought I would be, but I'm still insanely busy - like not catching up on my blog-reading fix until maybe tonight busy.

Suki yipped and happily ran circles around me when I returned home, but stayed on "Daddy's" lap all evening, watchin me very carefully. I wasn't surprised to wake to find her practically velcro-ed to me, remaining in bed with me even after I banished Sir SnoresAlot from the room.

The cats acted nonchalant about my absence, but were mysteriously extra cuddly this morning.

Mr. Hubby didn't seem worse for the wear, apparently he ate a steady diet of frozen pizza, bacon&eggs, and lunchmeat sandwiches while I was gone - a couple batches of veggie stir fry will get him back on healthy-food track.

Mr. Lee did some prowling around in my absence and apparently nearly stumbled into a vortex of white trash. Glad that's over!

P.S. Perhaps you'll be able to spot me in the audience of "The Price is Right" on Janurary 8th. I'm with two other hyper gals wearing pink t-shirts in the second to last row, near the center.

2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, Nov. 06, 2006 - 6:09 a.m.

no Sloop John B for me

Perhaps the prospect of scraping frost off the huge windshield of my 17 year old car has done this: I don't want to come home!! It's warm here, and farmers markets are still kickin! I may have actually turned a shade of off white, altering my usual blinding white complexion. My skin isn't screamingly dry or spotty, only once have my knees gotten cranky with me, a minor miracle given the anount of hiking I've done in the last week.

I certainly won't miss the traffic, the smog, and sharing a bathroom with four (well behaved) cats.

I'm certainly looking forward to seeing Mr. Hubby, my three cats and little dawg.

and yet

I'm not ready to return to the chill of the midwest, and I'm really having trouble returning to my cubicle at work. I received another rejection letter from some hosers I interviewed with, I was "Dear Applicant". I would feel waaaaaay less rejected about the whole ordeal if someone took the time to simply put my name on the letter. I got a haircut for them - my bangs are never gonna grow out.

Alrighty, no more whining from me, I've gotta locate and pack all my schtuff. Wish me a safe flight!

2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Nov. 02, 2006 - 6:38 p.m.

you'll never guess what I did today

Didya hear that Bob Barker is retiring?

I spent the day (and I mean all freaking day) at CBS studios waiting to be in the studio audience of "The Price is Right" - I kid you not.

No, I wasn't asked to "Come on Down!" but I had a great time nonetheless.

To back up a bit, the reason I haven't blogged lately is that I'm in sunny California visiting my sister. I've been here since Sunday morning and just now have the opportunity to get on a computer. I've gone to Santa Montica pier, shopped the 3rd street promanade, exhausted myself at Six Flags rollercoster park (where they also had multiple Halloween houses), rummaged through multiple farmer's markets, had my photo taken with Kermit the Frog's Walk of Fame Star near the famed Chinese Theatre . . . what's next?! Sorting out safe disposal of nuclear waste and developing a plan for peace in the Middle East?
I'll type more about California later - back to Bob.

First: Bob Barker looks freaking fantastic at 82 years young.
Second: His mind is sharp sharp sharp.
He has a sassy yet friendly answer for any and every question audience membersd asked him during breaks - the most interesting question being "Bob, why are you retiring?"

The entire audience went silent and visibly scooted forward in their chairs to hear his response - he looked over the audience, and to my perception, looked a bit sad as he said "I want to retire while I'm still young."
We erupted into applause, and stood to honor him, he finally had to shush us up, patting down the air in front of him to covey "sit down, shut up".

I have a "Price is Right" shotglass to commerate the day, and need to think of Bob Barker-esque drinking games to go along with my newest alcohol delivery unit.

More typie soon, dinner is ready, sissy says "you are being ruuuuuuuude" so I've gotta fly.

Sorry to gimp out on Elvis Wednesday, as soon as I upload photos from my camera I'll make it up to ya.

Smooches from California,
Betti

5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday, Oct. 27, 2006 - 8:30 a.m.

a doberman joke for you, Alie

Alie is one of the six (?) web-surfing people on Earth brilliant enough to leave comments for me on a regular basis. Not that non-commenters are stooooopid, but damn, it would make my day if you said "hi", Mr/Mz Suspicious McLurkiePants . . . .
But I digress.

Alie, you requested big dogs in costume? You get big dogs in costume. In fact, this gentle-hearted giant is considering a career change, from lover-boy Chippendale-esque couch potato -to comedian!

(Someone must have left the TV on, he thinks he's Pee Wee Herman!

There's a guy with a Doberman pinscher and a guy with a Chihuahua. The guy with the Doberman pinscher says to the guy with a Chihuahua, "Let's go over to that restaurant and get something to eat."
The guy with the Chihuahua says, "We can't go in there. We've got dogs with us."

The guy with the Doberman pinscher says, "Just follow my lead."

They walk over to the restaurant, the guy with the Doberman pinscher puts on a pair of dark glasses, and he starts to walk in. A guy at the door says, "Sorry, mac, no pets allowed."

The guy with the Doberman pinscher says, "You don't understand. This is my seeing-eye dog."

The guy at the door says, "A Doberman pinscher?"

He says, "Yes, they're using them now, they're very good."

The guy at the door says, "Come on in."

The guy with the Chihuahua figures, "What the hell," so he puts on a pair of dark glasses and starts to walk in.

The guy at the door says, "Sorry, pal, no pets allowed."

The guy with the Chihuahua says, "You don't understand. This is my seeing-eye dog."

The guy at the door says, "A Chihuahua?"

The guy with the Chihuahua says, "You mean they gave me a Chihuahua?"

7 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Oct. 26, 2006 - 9:19 a.m.

puppies in costumes, what could be better?

I received an email "forward" this morning that made my face hurt from grinning - rather than add more content to someone else's inbox, I thought I'd share some of it with you, oh blogosphere.

If you're feeling so inclined, please suggest captions for the photos below! Perhaps I'll return later today when I'm well-caffinated and have grown tired of organizing paperclips.


This photo nearly made me cry with joy,
my Suki pup is 1/2 Japanese Chin and I adore Princess Leia.

I would wet myself laughing if I were chased by Pug Vader
Madame Deeeeee, I am your Faaaaaather!


Size matters not


6 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2006 - 8:45 a.m.

Intergalatic Elvis sighting

For more velvet Elvis viewing, visit velvet_hellvis' photos on flickr.

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

Mr. Hubby recently informed me that we may be inheriting an actual velvet Elvis painting from a friend of ours who passed away recently. As a tribute to our deceased friend's love of all things cheesy, we would like to hang the painting in our home, rather than just store it.

My question for you, oh blogosphere (or three people who enjoy stoppping by) is where should a velvet Elvis painting hang?

My house has an open floor plan, the front room/dining area/kitchen are pretty much all the same room. So, Elvis could live in the front of the house, drawing more attention to the tidy and clean yet childishly tacky aspects of my decorating taste. Or, Elvis could live in "the purple room" - the guest room (painted lavender) that doubles as a videogame/bookshelf/toy/misc room. Elvis would probably look good above the bed, but I was saving that spot for David Bowie.

Woot. Perhaps you know too much now. *grin*

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

vanity:

most recent entry

previous entries

random entry

my (neglected) webiste

**links**

the usual hecklers:

Alice

Alfred's Mom

Jenny

Nikki

MadameD

take a look:

Stories of Strength & Courage

hosted by DiaryLand.com