-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

06.15.06 - 12:09 a.m.

June Cleaver incarnate

This evening, I fixed dinner for 7 adults and 3 children - and got nearly as many thank yous! Two of the adults were new to the jungle, as they were friendly acquaintences now dating my friends - new friends! They were funny, genuinely warm, got along with my pets, and struck my weak spot by telling me my house (the jungle) was beautiful. I'll ramble on about my house in a non disclosing, non creepy way at a later date, 'kay?

All my pets escaped the house just before the guests arrived; my husband accidently forgot to make sure our back door was closed properly. He was on a short gardening mission, so we'll strike that from the record, agreed? The 3 cats didn't give me cause for alarm, but I was especially relieved to see my dog Suki proudly leading our baffled and smiling guests to the back yard. The "Heeeey! I found people!" look on her face was priceless.

The 8 year old boys taught me some of the finer points of "Star Wars - Clone Wars" on Xbox, and in exchange, I taught them valuable vocabulary builders such as "fartknocker" and "turdburgler". OH, and I got the use the phrase "I don't make monkeys, I just train them" for the first time in at least a decade. Simpsons were watched, darts and card games were played, and a plethora of tacos were consumed by all. Did I mention that all the dishes are washed and put away?? A very pleasant evening in the jungle indeed.

1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

06.14.06 - 4:53 p.m.

technical difficulties

The dinner guests I was going to have over yesterday are coming over tonight instead. I'll be cooking taco ingredients for _12_! I hope I can play nice with everyone and feel like a gracious hostess rather than a meal ticket for vagabond hippies. I think my bad mood is starting to break up and blow away, but it is a little too soon to be sure. We'll be back to regularly scheduled programming in no time folks, thanks for your patience.

0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

06.14.06 - 10:57 a.m.

so much for no whining!

Alrighty, I'll apologize in advance for the whining to follow, the whining I intended to keep off my gimpy-blog, the whining I'm compelled to share in the hopes of getting out of whiny mode.

Sometimes I feel like I'm perceived as merely an accessory to other people's lives, void of my own wishes, needs, aspirations, soul, whatever. I think that working as "support staff" may be the cause of this unpleasant state; at minimum my occupation isn't helping the circumstances _at_all_.

Perhaps I was easier to appease/impress in the past, but lately I think I�d prefer to sit in silence than listen to someone make grandiose statements they have no intention of acting on. Failed efforts are welcome, no effort whatsoever rabidly ticks me off.

Days like this, I'm mentally driving to an unknown destination, pulling a vintage airstream trailer that contains everything I need to take care of myself for a few weeks.

0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

vanity:

most recent entry

previous entries

random entry

my (neglected) webiste

**links**

the usual hecklers:

Alice

Alfred's Mom

Jenny

Nikki

MadameD

take a look:

Stories of Strength & Courage

hosted by DiaryLand.com