-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday, Feb. 12, 2007 - 10:11 a.m.

bracing for impact

One of my fellow rollergirls fell in practice yesterday, and was uncomfortable afterwards, to say the least. Even as a spectator, it was an uncomfortable situation. Up until now, all the skaters I personally know have popped back up on their feet nearly as quickly as they fell in the first place. I'm not sure what was louder, the THUD of the fall, or the following silence as we waited for her to say something.

Meanwhile, my only skate related injury is my blistered foot. Does it count as blisters if there is no skin over the wounds? I taught myself how to bandage everything up so I'm very comfortable 85% of the time, only mildly uncomfortable 10% of the time, and in "oh gee, this could start to suck" mode 5% of the time. "Nearly sucking mode" is more mental than physical, it's always a little unnerving to see a spreading blood spot on a new white sock.

Either:
1) My right skate will break in
2) My right foot will stop being weenie
3) I'll become master of bandages and prevent any further damage.

In follow-up news,
On Friday? After work? No cleaning occured. I ate a slice of cold pizza and went to bed. And stayed there for 14 hours because I felt like crap and was paranoid that I'd get worse and miss practice.

In other news,
My (spectacular) bit of the midwest is about to encounter lots of snow, and the media is in a complete tizzy about it. I'm secretly hopeful that I don't have to work tomorrow because I want to get over this sore throat and I want/need to clean up my house to prepare for my sister visiting from waaaaaaaay out of town.

3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday, Feb. 09, 2007 - 3:04 p.m.

is it Sunday yet?

Some days at the office . . . *sigh*

I'd love to take my frustration out on the roller-rink floor, but because I must let my blistered foot heal up, I'll end up taking it out on my dirty house. How June Cleaver-ish (and lame) of me.

2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Feb. 08, 2007 - 9:08 a.m.

SkateWars: A New Blister

Yeah, if I had the time I'd go on a lengthy Lucas tangent, but I'll cut to the chase: I am in a epic battle with my skates.

My first blister is nearly healed, and is finally beginning to callus. (Mmmmmm, aren't you excited by this yummy tangent?) Now I have a new open blister nearby, and two (thankfully) closed ones right next to the open one. So, AGAIN, I'll probably have to forgo skating on Friday and Saturday so I'm healed enough to participate in practice on Sunday.

I've bandaided, blister patched, athletic taped, used moleskin on the inside of my skate, double socked, inside-out socked . . . gah. I have to work up the nerve to use moleskin directly on my foot, it's kinda like fuzzy duct tape. That would be okay if my foot weren't already boogered up . . . *blicky*.

oooooooooh, if I keep up the freelance work, perhaps I'll save up enough for a *new* (as in not used and just new to me) pair of skates. Then I'd have new breaking-in issues, but perhaps not? Some other lucky mofos have had no blister issues whatsoever while breaking in new skates.

In slighly less boring and gory news:
I skated in thick (stripey) footless tights and a miniskirt for the first time, it actually *is* beneficial for mobility. Mr. Lee laughed and called me "chicken legs", I always thought I had non-scrawny legs and resembled Barney Rubble? The skirt doesn't interfere with (attempting to) stay low on the corners, and you wear tiny shorts underneath so you don't feel like a complete goober when you pick yourself up off the floor.

Yeah. I fell yesterday. Mostly landed on my butt, but the outside of my right ankle took alot of weight too. There are much worse things than landing sitting indian-style, I was wearing wristbraces, it was a little kid's fault, and somehow he didn't fall in the collision.

Also, a kid fell after running into me sideways - I have no clue where he came from, or where he thought he was going, so I'm not going to loose sleep over it. He hopped right back up, and I brushed off friendly "ooooooh, you tripped a little kid!" calls from fellow derby girls in training. Also, I was pretty impressed that I kept my balance and skated on.

And now for your viewing pleasure:

4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, Feb. 07, 2007 - 10:19 a.m.

Elvis Wednesday: Office Supply Edition

I think it would be really funny to do this to someone's office wall while they were away on vacation. Even better, someone does this to my ugly needs-a-paintjob wall at work. Visit this fantastic Flickr page for more.

~ * ~ * ~ * ~

In non-Elvis news, thank you for all the roller derby name suggestions! I'm now at the "I didn't want to share a name with yoooooouuuuu anyway" phase, and am no longer angsty about my denied request to use a name similar to a derby name already in use.

Because I've got a metric ton of paperwork to shuffle and tasks to accomplish, (plus a new freelance project - woohoo!) the derby name dilemma is taking backseat for at least the rest of the day, time to focus on cubicle life.

I'm off to harness the power of caffiene, good day to you!

5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

vanity:

most recent entry

previous entries

random entry

my (neglected) webiste

**links**

the usual hecklers:

Alice

Alfred's Mom

Jenny

Nikki

MadameD

take a look:

Stories of Strength & Courage

hosted by DiaryLand.com