-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thursday, Aug. 24, 2006 - 10:29 a.m.

$%&*#$@!!

Don't you hate it when you write out a long, thoughtful entry then accidently delete it?

Short(ish) version: My cat Mikey (see Aug 18 entry) and I paid a visit to the vet yesterday, he was whiny, clingy and lost his appetite for a few days then *really* scared me when he wouldn't eat scrambled eggs with basil and oregeno mixed in. That's a BIG signal that he's feeling like total crap.

It turns out he has a badly infected dog bite at the base of his tail. Last week I mentioned that Mikey spent an afternoon up a huge tree - apparently my neighbor's Golden Retriever caught him first. I didn't notice the bite when I inspected Mikey for injuries because his entire tail was still puffed out from adrenaline.

I feel very guilty and neglectful for not figuring this out sooner, but am relieved that Mikey is on antibiotics and will have his wound checked again on Saturday morning - which means I won't be leaving town to attend my deceased friend's memorial service. Because Mikey and my deceased friend really got along with each other, I'm not going to feel bad about my absence, criticical individuals can kiss my ass.

And now it's time for me to perch on my soapbox:
Pets can be _very_ expensive, as in majorly altering the way you spend money. Add a dash of unexpected expenses and unexpectedly diminished income, and you're nearly screwed. No plane tickets to visit friends and family out of town, no home repair/improvement, no new clothes, no fancy groceries, blah blah blee-doo dah.

If you or anyone you know is considering taking in a pet, please keep the possible economic ramifications in mind. You have an _obligation_ to care for that pet until the day it dies, only a fraction of pets surrendered to shelters find new homes. If you can save up $65 to spend on clothes, furniture, alcohol, tobacco, or drugs, you can come up with $65 to spend on having that pet spayed or neutered. "We can't afford it" is a bullshit lame-ass LAZY ignorant excuse - FIGURE IT OUT.

Smooches to anyone who donates their hard-earned money to the ASPCA.

1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2006 - 2:26 p.m.

Zappa in a Clown Band

Elvis has left the building - you can see him at Nikki's site. :)

If you stopped by for ELVIS WEDNESDAY last week, you know I advertised "proof" to my new conspiracy theory / crazy idea:

Frank Zappa is alive and well - and having the time of his life playing trombone in a clown band. He's had a minor adjustment made to his (lovely, hawklike) nose, so the average Joe won't recognize him.

In case you're not familiar with what Frank Zappa looks like, I made a (hyperactive, poorly formatted) collage to illustrate my point:

2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

vanity:

most recent entry

previous entries

random entry

my (neglected) webiste

**links**

the usual hecklers:

Alice

Alfred's Mom

Jenny

Nikki

MadameD

take a look:

Stories of Strength & Courage

hosted by DiaryLand.com